Best Vegan Chewing Gums: What Is It?
With a significant proportion of the world shifting away from consuming animal and dairy-based products, the demand for vegan foods is growing on a daily basis. This has provided an incentive for food companies to develop vegan alternatives for the most popular eatables, from spring rolls to toffees.
One of these newly-introduced vegan foods is vegan chewing gum. Developed after it was realised that conventional chewing gum (which was usually considered to be vegan) might, in fact, contain some animal/dairy ingredients, vegan chewing gum has fast turned into a staple option for vegans.
Such products are available in a variety of flavours, so as not to miss out on the taste while slightly changing up the ingredients. Generally, such gums, in addition to being vegan, are also low on sugars (and hence, calories), while also being largely free of allergenic ingredients like gluten and dairy. This makes these products attractive even to non-vegans.
Chewing gum has long been used by thousands of people, despite not really being a part of any known diet plan.
Chewed out of habit, for a fresher breath, for dental hygiene, to blow bubbles, or even because of a simple preference, chewing gum is traditionally made from gum bases (which may be natural or synthetic) and sugars, along with flavouring and colouring agents.
Most of these ingredients are generally vegan-friendly, but the flavours and colours (and even the gum) may have an animal source somewhere along the supply chain.
There are some ingredients which are a red light for vegans if mentioned on the label of the chewing gum.
BEST VEGAN CHEWING GUMS INGREDIENTS THAT VEGANS NEED TO STAY AWAY FROM
There are some ingredients which are derived from animal sources, and if present in the chewing gum product, they will make it non-vegan.
The consumer needs to keep an eye out for such agents, and to help with that, we have included a list of some of these ingredients, along with a brief description of each.
This is one of the most well-known non-vegan ingredients, commonly found in a number of chewing gums, such as Orbit. Gums which are designed in the shape of crystals or pellets are more prone to the inclusion of gelatine in the formulation, which is used as a binding agent to hold the shape. Mostly coming from the skins, bones, hides, and hooves of cows and pigs, gelatine renders the final product unfit for vegans and vegetarians. It is prominently mentioned on the label, and hence, is pretty easy to avoid.
Also known as E120, carmine lake, crimson lake, carminic acid, cochineal, natural red 4, cochineal extract, and c.i 75470, this is derived from the cochineal insect and imparts an unnatural red, crimson colour to the product. Cochineal has been linked to adverse effects like rhinitis and urticaria in sensitive individuals. It may be worth mentioning that some red gums actually make use of a different colour, known as E129, Allura Red AC, Red 40 Aluminium Lake, FD&C Red 40, Red 40 Lake or c.i 16035, which is vegan friendly, but is linked with many side effects.
Also called glycerol or E422, the source of this particular ingredient may be quite tricky to determine. This is because it can be derived both from plant sources (like soy) or from animal ones. Fortunately, most brands clearly state the source of the glycerine used, but if it is not stated, it is better to confirm with the producers first. Glycerine has generally used a sweetener alongside xylitol.
This component naturally occurs in chocolate, and so, it can be found in some chocolate flavoured gums. This too, can be prepared from both, plant and animal-based sources, and is generally found in much higher levels in animal fats. Nevertheless, the main source of stearic acid in chocolate is cocoa butter, which, being plant-based, is vegan-friendly. Still, if you’re not sure, check with the sellers or manufacturers. Also known as E570, stearic acid is mostly used in gums to provide a thickening effect, while also improving the elasticity and flexibility of the gum, to make the gum chewier.
Its name, which is derived from the ancient Greek word for egg yolk, indicates the original source from which lecithin was obtained. Today, lecithin is found in both, plant and animal sources. Plants like soy, sunflower, and rapeseed, and milk and eggs from animals, are the most important sources of lecithin, which is used in a variety of foods, like bread, chocolate, and vegan butter. If found in chewing gum, it uses is quite similar to that of stearic acid and glycerine, that is, to improve the elasticity and flexibility of the gum. It may also be listed on the label as E322, and unless it is clearly stated that it is derived from plant-based sources, it is better to consult the manufacturers before purchasing the product.
A GUIDE TO HELP YOU BUY YOUR IDEAL VEGAN CHEWING GUM (Top 9 Product Reviews)
We have put together a list of some of the best vegan chewing gum products available on the market, along with detailed reviews about their characteristics. We have also included the pros and cons of each product, to help you know what edge one product has over the others, in order to make an informed decision about which brand to opt for.
Designed to allow for a fast release of the nootropic (ingredients/agents which increase cognitive function, like memory, creativity, and motivation), this chewing gum is meant for providing a quick, yet balanced, energy boost.
One of the best features of this product is its great release characteristics and bioavailability. The gum is prepared using a patented cold compression technology, which ensures that the consumer gets the energy up to five times faster than from drinking coffee or energy drinks.
The ingredients are all of high quality, and certified GRAS (Generally Regarded As Safe), to provide a clean energy boost, without any unwanted jitters or sugar crashes. The caffeine is derived from green tea, and provides a clean energy source.
The L-theanine improves focus and cognition. Vitamin B6 elevates mood and enhances nerve function, and Vitamin B12 is good for brain function.
Additionally, the gum is free from sugar and gluten, is completely vegan, and does not contain any GMO. This makes it an ideal product for diabetics, those on a diet, and those following a plant-based diet. Being aspartame free, this can be easily consumed by phenylketonuria patients as well.
Ingredients: Sorbitol, Gum Base, L-theanine, Natural Flavours (Peppermint), Natural Caffeine (from Green Tea), Calcium Stearate, Spirulina Flakes, Sucralose, Monk Fruit, Stevia, Pyridoxine (Vitamin B6), Methyl cobalamin (Vitamin B12)
Package Dimensions: 5.28 x 3.27 x 2.95 inches
Package Weight: 0.37 Ounces
Contains 108 pieces
- Provides a quick energy boost
- Vegan-friendly and free of gluten and sugar
- Makes use of natural cognition enhancers like caffeine and vitamin B6
- Suitable for people with phenylketonuria
- Contains sucralose, which destroys gut bacteria
- Taste is not very good
One of the best xylitol chewing gums on the market (as described by consumers), Xylichew gum is sugar free, and contains no artificial sweetening agents. As such, this is a good option for people cutting back on their sugar intake, and for those who are overly sensitive to sweet foods.
All the ingredients, including the gum Arabic and the sunflower lecithin, are derived from plant-based sources, making this product friendly to a vegan diet.
The refreshing taste is imparted to this gum by the peppermint leaves, and so, this can be used as a post-meal breath freshener as well.
The calorific value of this product is low, and the protein content equals zero grams, making this suitable for people on diets.
Ingredients: Xylitol, gum base, vegetable glycerine, natural peppermint flavours, gum arabic, sunflower lecithin, carnauba wax. Produced in a facility that also processes soy.
Product Dimensions: 2.24 x 2.24 x 3.23 inches
Product Weight: 10.08 Ounces
Contains 240 pieces
- Peppermint leaves provide a great taste
- Vegan friendly
- This gum is not overly-sweet
- Flavour doesn’t last long
- The new version of the product is thinner and less chewy
PUR Gum is a well-known brand among chewing gum manufacturers, and the newly released bubble-gum and chocolate mint flavours are the latest additions to the PUR Gum range. Full of great taste, these gums are among the best options available on the market.
This popularity can be owed to a number of favourable characteristics, such as the vegan-friendly and aspartame-free nature, the certified absence of GMO, sugars, nuts, gluten, soy, and dairy. Moreover, the product has been proven safe in diabetics and pregnant women.
Xylitol (derived from corn fibres from Europe) is used as the sweetener, and is a better choice than sucrose, since it prevents dental caries. Moreover, it is free of all the 92 risks associated with Aspartame by the FDA. All the ingredients used are of high-quality, and the product is entirely Swiss made.
Product Dimensions: 7 x 1 x 6 inches
Product Weight: 5.78 Ounces
- The flavours provide a great taste
- Sugar-free, nut-free, aspartame-free, gluten-free, no GMO
- Safe in diabetes and pregnancy
- Flavour doesn’t last very long, especially with the chocolate flavour in the chocolate mint gum
Designed as a breath-freshener, the strong flavour of the product masks bad breath and odour. Moreover, it also alters the oral pH, killing any bacteria responsible for tooth decay, plaque, and bad breath.
Sweetened using Xylitol, this patented formula is free of sugar, salt, and preservatives. The presence of calcium and Vitamin B make this product reliable for dental hygiene.
Xylitol is naturally occurring in fruits and vegetables, has a low calorific value, and is free of any effects on the glucose levels. As such, it is safe for diabetics and those restricting the sugar intake.
When used with calcium and vitamin B12 (as in this gum), xylitol raises the mouth pH to about 9-11, which eliminates any harmful bacteria.
All the ingredients are Kosher (conform to Jewish food norms), vegan-friendly, and do not contain any gluten or soy. None of the ingredients are derived from corn. The xylitol too, is derived from birch. The product is available in three delicious flavours, namely, Spearmint, Bubble-gum, and Cinnamon.
Read More: BEST VEGAN BAKING COOKBOOKS
Ingredients: Xylitol, Gum base, Natural Spearmint Flavour, Vitamin B12, Gum Arabic, Carnauba Wax, Calcium Citrate, Calcium Gluconate
Product Dimensions: 4 x 2.3 x 2.3 inches
Product Weight: 4.64 Ounces
Contains 100 pieces
- Sugar, gluten, and soy free. Ideal for diabetics, those on a diet, and people with certain allergies. Fully vegan
- Eliminates oral bacteria, and freshens breath
- Taste can be very short-lasting
- The product may be very sweet for some
Another well-known bubble gum brand, this product is designed using cane sugar and brown rice syrup as the sweetening agents, and is free of any artificial sweeteners or corn syrup.
It does not contain any GMO products, is vegan and Kosher, and free of nuts, gluten and dairy. The flavours used are from natural sources, and artificial colours are totally absent. As such, it can also be consumed by people who are allergic to corn, gluten, and dairy products.
Thid particular product contains a total of four bags, and two different flavour variants (2 packs of each flavour).
Product Dimensions: 6 x 3 x 5 inches
Product Weight: 8.78 Ounces(2 Ounces per pack)
- Free of artificial colours and flavours
- Free of gluten, dairy, and corn. Vegan friendly and Kosher
- Made using cane sugar, so not suitable for diabetics and for those on diet
- This product may not be truly vegan, as cane sugar may be processed using animal derived materials
This sugar-free product has been accepted by the American Dental Association (ADA), and does not promote teeth decay. Moreover, the long lasting spearmint flavour (provided using natural and artificial flavouring agents), freshens breath and eliminates any odour.
The product is supplied in a Convenient Pantry Box, which provides ease of storage and access.
It is suitable for diabetics, and has been said to help desk with illnesses (as reviewed by consumers). It doesn’t contain any protein, and the calorific value is low.
Ingredients: Made of Sorbitol, Gum Base, Glycerol, Natural and Artificial Flavours, Less than 2% of: Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Aspartame, Mannitol, Acesulfame K, Soy Lecithin, BHT (to Maintain Freshness), Colours (Turmeric, Blue 1 Lake).
Product Dimensions: 7.1 x 5.4 x 2.8 inches
Product Weight: 2.1 Pounds
Contains 20 packs in total, with 15 sticks in each pack
- Helps deal with illnesses
- Accepted by the ADA for not promoting tooth decay
- Contains Aspartame, which is harmful for people with phenylketonuria
A chewing gum which is softer and has more subtle flavours as compared to other brands, this product is free of plastic, and is developed using a natural tree sap (chicle) base. It is biodegradable, and is better for the environment and the consumer.
Each piece is hand-crafted in the factory, and contains no artificial colours and flavours. This pack contains 6 flavour variants, including Fennel, Coffee, Maple, Peppermint, Ginger, and Cinnamon, each with 15 strips (total of 90 strips).
No artificial ingredients are used, and cane sugar is used as the sweetener. The glycerine used is from plant-based sources, and this gum is Kosher, vegan, non GMO, and free from aspartame and xylitol. What’s more, this product comes with the guarantee of a 100% refund in case of dissatisfaction.
Ingredients: Peppermint: Organic Raw Cane Sugar, Natural Chicle Base, Natural Peppermint Oil, Organic Vegetable Glycerine, Organic Rice Flour. Coffee: Organic Raw Cane Sugar, Natural Chicle Base, Natural Flavour, Organic Vegetable Glycerine, Organic Rice Flour. Maple: Organic Raw Cane Sugar, Natural Chicle Base, Natural Flavour, Organic Vegetable Glycerine, Organic Rice Flour. Cinnamon: Organic Raw Cane Sugar, Natural Chicle Base, Natural Cinnamon and Peppermint Oil, Organic Vegetable Glycerine, Organic Rice Flour. Ginger: Organic Raw Cane Sugar, Natural Chicle Base, Natural Ginger and Peppermint Oil, Organic Vegetable Glycerine, Organic Rice Flour. Fennel: Organic Raw Cane Sugar, Natural Chicle Base, Natural Fennel and Peppermint Oil, Organic Vegetable Glycerine, Organic Rice Flour
Product Dimensions : 5.28 x 2.72 x 2.13 inches
Product Weight: 7.02 Ounces
Contains 6 bags with 15 strips each (total 90 strips)
- Free from plastics; biodegradable
- Softer to chew, with subtle flavours
- Contains no artificial ingredients
- Contains cane sugar; not suitable for diabetics
- Taste may not be noticeable
- Very sticky
Great for party favours, classroom handouts, and prizes, the Dubble Bubble Gum is nothing short classic bubble gum, minus the sugar content, and gluten and peanuts. Each gum piece is individually wrapped, and this product comprises three bags of 20 pieces each.
As it is developed by advancing upon the conventional Double Bubble gum which contains sugar, the gum does not compromise on taste despite being sugar-free, and that is what makes it a much better and healthier ‘dessert’ option. Moreover, the new variant is vegan in nature.
Product Dimensions: 6.38 x 6.26 x 2.83 inches
Product Weight: 11.61 Ounces
Contains about 60 pieces
- Sugar-free, suitable for diabetics
- May be too sweet for some
Manufactured by Xyloburst, this product contains xylitol as the sweetener, and is designed to enhance oral health by reducing cavity-causing bacteria, and also improve the health of the gums and teeth. Being sugar-free, it is suitable for consumption in diabetes, and is also said to improve sinus function.
Additionally, this gum is also claimed to reduce hunger pangs and cravings, which may be helpful for those on a diet. Apart from containing up to 40% more xylitol than other brands, this gum is aspartame free, vegan-friendly, and non-GMO.
Ingredients: Xylitol, gum base, natural flavors, vegetable glycerin, gum arabic, soy lecithin and beeswax. XyloBurst fruit gum does contain some artificial flavors.
Product Dimensions: 6.7 x 3.7 x 3.7 inches
Product Weight: 1.7 Pounds
- Sugar and aspartame free, and ideal for vegans
- Promotes oral health
- The cinnamon taste might not appeal to some people
- The gum texture may not be liked by some people
THINGS TO KEEP IN MIND WHILE PURCHASING VEGAN CHEWING GUM: THE BUYER’S GUIDE
While buying a vegan chewing gum, the consumer needs to take certain things into consideration, to ensure that they get the right value for their money.
Carefully look at the label of the product you’re thinking of buying, and note the ingredients, along with the price.
The Sweetener Used
Try to find out which sweetener has been used in the product. Different types of agents may be used as sweeteners, and each has its pros and cons. Cane sugar and glucose are commonly employed as natural sweeteners. They are high in calorific value, promote dental caries, and are not suitable for people with diabetes. Xylitol is another natural agent, and has the advantage of lower calorie content and lesser chances of dental caries, and is safe in diabetes. However, the source of xylitol needs to be checked, since it is often derived from corn, rendering it unsuitable for allergic people. Artificial agents are generally non-calorigenic, but sucralose destroys gut bacteria, and aspartame is not safe for people with phenylketonuria.
Agents like peanuts, gluten, dairy, soy, and corn are known to be allergenic. Check the label to see if you are allergic to any ingredient.
Is it really vegan?
Some products may be labelled vegan without properly accounting for any animal matter introduced during processing. Cane sugar, for example, is often processed using animal charcoal. If glycerine or lecithin is used, make sure that that it is plant-based.
The cost, the available flavour, its intensity, and the duration for which it lasts, are other things to be kept in mind, to help you look for better alternatives, and decide between similar products.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT VEGAN CHEWING GUM
Is conventional chewing gum vegan?
Most conventional chewing gum brands are usually prepared using ingredients that are not animal-based. However, some chewing gums contain gelatine, which is derived from animal bones. Moreover, some of the ingredients may be processed using animal-derived materials (like animal charcoal). Some older brands like Trident White contained milk solids, which are non-vegan. Some colouring agents like cochineal are also animal-based but are generally not used in chewing gums.
Which is better as a sweetening agent: Natural or Artificial Sweeteners?
Natural sweeteners like cane sugar and glucose are known to cause dental cavities, and to be unfit for consumption in diabetes. There are other natural sweeteners available, such as xylitol, which are less prone to causing caries and are lower in calorific value. Artificial agents are largely free of such adverse effects, but have their own set of adversities. For example, aspartame can be dangerous in phenylketonuria, and sucralose is toxic to gut flora.
What are some chewing gum brands which are vegan? And some which are non-vegan?
There are many brands of chewing gum which are vegan in nature. A few of these are Wrigley’s Sugar Free Gum, Double Bubble, Simply Gum, Tree Hugger, and PUR Gum.
Some gums, such as from brands like Trident, Mentos, and Orbit, and those shaped as crystals, do contain animal-based ingredients like milk solids, or gelatine.
What are some ingredients which can make the chewing gum-non vegan?
While searching for a gum that’s vegan, buyers need to be wary of ingredients which are animal or dairy based. Among these, gelatine is well known and is derived from collagen, which in turn is a constituent of bone, and extracted from the horns, hooves, etc of cows or pigs. Gums which are shaped ad crystals or pellets often contain gelatine. Another such ingredient is carmine, obtained from the cochineal insect, and imparting a bright red colour to the product. Glycerine can be confusing, since it can come from both, plant and animal sources. Two other agents which are similar to glycerine in this respect are stearic acid and lecithin. These too, can be derived both from plant and animal sources, and as such, may lead to confusion. Mostly, all products which contain such anomalous ingredients list out the actual source from which these are derived (like soy gelatine). However, unless specifically mentioned, it is better to consult the manufacturer before buying such products.
In this review, we listed (and described in depth) some of best vegan chewing gum products available on the market, all of which offer good value for money. Each gum listed here is unique, and the characteristics of each are different from the rest.
As such, different products have an edge over others in different categories, and the pros and cons of each product are also listed below each review, to help the consumer make a well-informed decision about which brand best fulfils their requirements.
While all of these chewing gums are labelled ‘Vegan’, some of them contain natural sweeteners, some others contain artificial ones, while others still use a combination of these two. The flavours of the above-listed products range from strong spearmint to sweet bubble-gum, and even chocolate mint, among others.
Apart from this well-detailed review, we have also included a section describing the types of ingredients which render the product non-vegan, if present in the product.
Additionally, we have also mentioned some things which the consumer should keep in mind while looking for vegan chewing gums, and even vegan foods in general.
Finally, we have answered some of the questions which are frequently asked by people looking to buy vegan chewing gums, to help the consumers differentiate better between different products, and to know what should, and shouldn’t be present, in the gum.
Make sure to go through this review before buying your vegan chewing gum, to help you get the product which gives you the best return on your money.